Daniel Negreanu Sets Record, Wins WSOP Player of the Year Again

Published on October 29, 2013 at 03:42
Written By Gavin Carter
Daniel Negreanu Sets Record, Wins WSOP Player of the Year Again

Daniel Negreanu has won the World Series of Poker Europe 2013 €25,600 High Roller Event. The win means that he has officially won the WSOP Player of the Year Award for 2013. He is the first player in the history of the game to win two WSOP Player of the Year Awards. This win cements his place as one of the all time greats in the game.

Daniel Negreanu needed to finish in 8th place or better to take the WSOP Player of the Year title. He didn’t stop there. He went on to win the event to claim another WSOP bracelet and an incredible €725,000 ($1 million) in prize money. In addition, this takes his lifetime bracelet count up to six bracelets. His total lifetime prize money has now climbed to just under $20 million!

The final table payouts were as follows:

1. Daniel Negreanu       €725,000

2. Nicolau Villa-Lobos   €450,000

3. Phillip Gruissem        €250,000

4. David Peters               €150,500

5. Timothy Adams          €100,600

6. Scott Seiver                 €74,600

7. Jason Koon                €63,500

8. Erik Seidel                  €55,400

9. Joni Jouhkimainen   €50,400

Winning the High Roller Event cannot be understated. This is the event that the most successful players always take part in. Negreanu had to defeat an entire tournament line up stacked with top rank players and poker legends.

Daniel Negreanu is without a doubt one of the world’s greatest players. He is also a Team PokerStars Pro. He can be found playing poker online under his nickname “Kid Poker”.

PokerStars is the leading online poker room in the world and their partnership with Negreanu is fitting as he is one of the leading poker players in the world. Time and time again, he has proven that he has what it takes to climb to the top and win against the best.