Keven Stammen Wins 2014 World Poker Tour Championship

Published on April 29, 2014 at 05:30
Written By Jack Watson
Keven Stammen Wins 2014 World Poker Tour Championship

Keven Stammen has won the final even of the World Poker Tour, known as the WPT Championship. He took home $1.35 million for his efforts.

The 2014 year saw some major changes to the flagship championship event, with the event being held at the Borgata in Atlantic City instead of its traditional location at the Bellagio in Las Vegas. 

The buy-in for the event was also reduced from $25,000 to $15,000 in an effort to encourage a larger player pool. The organizers guaranteed a total prize pool of $5 million also so that players would be drawn to the event.

In the end, 328 players took part.

The final table was made up of Keven Stammen, Bryon Kaverman, Tony Dunst, Ryan D’Angelo, Curt Kohlberg and Abraham Korotki.

Stammen entered the final table with the chip lead. Stammen managed to use this momentum to battle through a tough field and take down the event. He would go into his heads-up battle against Kaverman with a 2:1 chip lead. Eventually, the two would get all in pre-flop with Kaverman holding 44 vs. Stammen’s A8. Stammen would spike the Ace on the river to take down the title and the $1.35 million.

Stammen’s win puts him in 3rd place in the Player of the Year standings and puts him with over $1.6 million in tournament winnings this year.

Bryon Kaverman took home $728,000 for his second place finish. Tony Dunst finished in 3rd for $450,000. Ryan D’Angelo won $364,000 for his 4th place finish. While Curt Kohlberg and Abraham Korotki each took home $286,000 and $235,000 respectively, finishing in 5th and 6th position.